Level One

Foundations of Children’s Yoga and Mindfulness: Creating Safe & Engaging Experiences

This introductory training provides you with the understanding and tools you need to teach a well-rounded yoga and mindfulness class to children and teens ages 3 to 18. We begin with an in-depth look at how the relationship between the brain, the body, and the nervous system affects child development. Then we explore the 5 Element framework of the Little Flower Yoga approach—connect, breathe, move, focus and relax—and learn how to create developmentally appropriate lesson plans using this structure. Guided by an experienced Little Flower Yoga Teacher who is actively teaching in schools, you will also learn:


  • How to make yoga poses accessible, safe, and engaging
  • Techniques for teaching breathwork to children
  • Successful strategies for working with schools
  • How to adapt lessons for different ages and abilities
  • Personal mindfulness and meditation practices
  • Guiding principles for teaching classes based on a compassionate understanding of students’ needs
  • Tools to create a physically and emotionally safe space for learning
  • The ethics of teaching yoga to children

Bonus Content!

Level One training also includes a webinar called Introduction to Little Flower Yoga and the Five Elements. This 90-minute online class is taught by LFY founder Jennifer Cohen Harper and should ideally be completed before the in-person training.

I personally thought my training was outstanding. It connect with the core of who I am and reminded me of my beliefs and values. Sometimes you can lose yourself as you’re treading in the water of real life. I really enjoyed the fact that the classes were hands on and interactive.

Bonnie C.


What Do You Need to
Get Started?

Level 1 training is open to all. It can be taken as a standalone program. No previous coursework is required. It is also a great starting point if you decide to become a Certified Little Flower Yoga Teacher.

To become a Certified Little Flower Yoga Teacher, you’ll need to complete the following requirements: Level 1, Level 2, Level 3 (in-person or online), and Trauma-Informed Training, Chair Yoga, Supporting Special Needs, Curriculum Development, and Mentorship (online).

There is no required time frame for completion—you can work toward certification at your own pace.